Baseball Cards

July 26, 2006 at 5:51 pm (Uncategorized)

There is a good article on the demise of the baseball card collector’s market over at Slate:

Requiem for a Rookie Card
How baseball cards lost their luster.

I had a two-year obsession with baseball in the late 1980s when The Twins won the World Series for the first time. During this time I amassed a fairly healthy baseball card collection. In high school, when my attentions shifted from sports and video games to music and girls, I packed my cards away into a photo album thinking that someday I would probably be able to get at least a few hundred dollars for my best cards. In 1998 when Mark McGwire hit 70 home runs and broke Maris’s record, I figured his rookie card would be worth a fortune. But when I shopped it around and checked ebay, no one was willing to pay more then $20 dollars or so.

I guess it’s just a supply & demand thing. In the 80s, the market was flooded with cards from dozens of companies putting out several different versions. While I might have been able to afford a few packs a week on my allowance, older collectors would buy them by the carton. So now it doesn’t mean much to have a McGuire Rookie Card, when serious collectors have fifty of them and ten different versions. Oh well, I will put them in my time capsule and see what happens in another 15 years.

Leave a Reply

